NCTQ announces new board officers

See all posts

We are pleased to announce that former Florida schools' chief John Winn has been elected the new chair of NCTQ's Board of Directors.  Winn will head a largely new team of NCTQ officers, including former National Superintendent of the Year Carol Peck, elected as Vice Chair; former Clinton Administration official Ira Fishman, elected as Secretary; and former president of the University of Northern Arizona, Clara Lovett, re-elected for her third term as treasurer. 

Responding to the election, Winn commented:  "I am honored to have been selected to lead the Board of Directors.  NCTQ has been conducting research and advocacy for high quality teachers for some time. Its work is having a national impact on state policies that goes a long way toward ensuring our students receive the best instruction possible. NCTQ has established itself as a credible source for improving teacher quality in areas ranging from teacher preparation, certification, selection and support for states and school districts across the US."

As an educator for 35 years, John began his career as an elementary and middle school teacher.  After 11 years in the classroom, he started as an entry-level employee at the Florida Department of Education, eventually rising to the ranks as Commissioner of Education spearheading major education reforms. John then worked with the National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI).

We would like to extend our gratitude, as well as our congratulations, to outgoing chair Barbara O'Brien.  With an overwhelming 60 percent of the vote, Barbara was recently elected to serve on the school board of the Denver Public Schools.