Traditional Standards

Alternative Certification Standards
Selection Criteria
What We See Around the Country in Selection Criteria
What You Can Do on Selection Criteria
Understanding Our Selection Criteria Standard
Learn More About Selection Criteria
video
Matt on Teacher Prep Academic Requirements (runs 00:37 sec)
June 2013
Matt McCabe, a tenth grade world history teacher with four years experience, says that teacher prep programs should have more rigorous academic standards.
"The academic requirements for a teacher should be at or above that of lawyers, of doctors, of engineers, of anything else that's intellectually demanding," says McCabe.
video
Dowan on Teacher Prep and Selection Criteria (runs 1:14 min)
June 2013
Dowan McNair-Lee, an eighth grade English teacher with ten years experience, talks about the importance of setting high academic standards for those entering the teaching profession.
"I attended a university that was an open enrollment university, so anyone that walked in the door could basically say that they wanted to be a teacher," says McNair-Lee.
Early Reading
What We See Around the Country in Early Reading
What You Can Do on Early Reading
Understanding Our Early Reading Standard
Learn More About Early Reading
video
Stephanie on Teacher Prep and Learning to Teach Reading (runs 1:04 min)
June 2013
Stephanie Tsakeris, a seventh grade social studies teacher with eight years experience, speaks about how important it is to have the skills to teach reading and what happens when you don't.
"I taught reading for four years and I found myself oftentimes very confused or unsure about how to help students comprehend or be engaged in reading," says Tsakeris.
video
Dwight on Teacher Prep and Learning to Teach Reading (runs 1:20 min)
June 2013
Dwight Davis, a fifth grade English/language arts and social studies teacher with eight years experience, speaks about how important it is to have the skills to teach reading and what happens when you don't.
"When I first came into teaching, I had students that ... I didn't even know how many reading levels they were behind. I had no way of assessing where students were reading," says Davis.
Groundwork
Elementary Mathematics
What We See Around the Country in Elementary Mathematics
What You Can Do on Elementary Mathematics
Understanding Our Elementary Mathematics Standard
Learn More About Elementary Mathematics
video
Leighton on Teacher Prep and Learning to Teach Elementary Math (runs 00:42 sec)
June 2013
Leighton Thomas, a third grade math teacher with four years teaching experience, talks about the importance of learning to break down math concepts for children. 
"I think that it's really important as an elementary teacher to understand the math methods. It's so important to build that foundation ... all of math success hinges on those early concepts," says Thomas. 
video
Louisiana State University: Strong in Preparing Teachers in Elementary Math Content
June 2013
NCTQ's Teacher Prep Review gave Louisiana State University four out of four stars for preparing undergraduates in Common Core elementary mathematics. The Review takes a close look at the quality of training provided by 2,420 teacher preparation programs across the country.
Groundwork
Content for Special Education
What We See Around the Country in Content for Special Education
Understanding Our Content for Special Education Standard
Learn More About Content for Special Education
Classroom Management
What We See Around the Country in Classroom Management
What You Can Do on Classroom Management
Understanding Our Classroom Management Standard
Learn More About Classroom Management
video
America's Teachers Weigh in on the Importance of Classroom Management (runs about 2 mins)
December 2013
America's teachers weigh in on the importance of classroom management. "The best lesson plan of the year won't go well if a teacher isn't armed with effective classroom management techniques," says Michelle, 3rd year teacher, Wisconsin.

Groundwork
Student Teaching
What We See Around the Country in Student Teaching
What You Can Do on Student Teaching
Understanding Our Student Teaching Standard
video
Alyson on Teacher Prep and Mentor Teachers (runs 00:58 sec)
June 2013
Alyson Roberts, an elementary reading intervention teacher with nine years experience, talks about the importance of being paired with an expert mentor during student teaching.
"Being paired with a strong teacher that knows how to teach all students and to communicate that to an aspiring teacher is essential," says Roberts.
video
Arizona State University: Providing a Strong Student Teaching Experience
June 2013
NCTQ's Teacher Prep Review gave Arizona State University four out of four stars for its undergraduate and graduate student teaching experiences. The Review takes a close look at the quality of training provided by 2,420 teacher preparation programs across the country.
video
Eliza on Teacher Prep and Student Teaching (runs 1:08 min)
June 2013
Eliza Ramirez, a middle school English/language arts teacher with five years experience, talks about the importance of having an experienced and high-performing mentor teacher.
"I think that the teaching program should feel that the student teaching component is one of the most important parts of what they offer their students," says Ramirez.
Groundwork
Secondary Methods
What We See Around the Country in Secondary Methods
What You Can Do on Secondary Methods
Understanding Our Secondary Methods Standard
Learn More About Secondary Methods
video
Lipscomb University: Strong Overall in Preparing Secondary Teachers
June 2013
NCTQ's Teacher Prep Review gave Lipscomb University in Tennessee four out of four stars for its undergraduate secondary teacher prep program. The Review takes a close look at the quality of training provided by 2,420 teacher preparation programs across the country.

Instructional Design for Special Education
What We See Around the Country in Instructional Design for Special Education
Understanding Our Instructional Design for Special Education Standard

Archived

Early Reading for English Language Learners
What We See Around the Country in Early Reading for English Language Learners
What You Can Do on Early Reading for English Language Learners
Understanding Our Early Reading for English Language Learners Standard
Struggling Readers
What We See Around the Country in Struggling Readers
What You Can Do on Struggling Readers
Understanding Our Struggling Readers Standard
Assessment and Data
What We See Around the Country in Assessment and Data
Understanding Our Assessment and Data Standard
video
Marisol on Teacher Prep and Using Student Data (runs 1:26 min)
June 2013
Marisol Castillo, a high school English teacher with nine years experience, talks about the importance of learning to use data for feedback on student progress.
"The reality is that we are going toward a more data-centric way of looking at teaching and I feel like teachers need to be prepared for what it means to look at data," says Castillo.
video
David on Teacher Prep and Using Student Data (runs 1:03 min)
June 2013
David Gesualdi, an elementary school physical education teacher with six years experience, talks about the importance of using student data to inform instruction.
"I ... have a number in my head of where that student performed on the previous assessment and that's what drives my instruction," says Gesualdi.
Groundwork
Equity
Outcomes
What We See Around the Country in Outcomes
What You Can Do on Outcomes
Understanding Our Outcomes Standard
Evidence of Effectiveness
What We See Around the Country in Evidence of Effectiveness
Understanding Our Evidence of Effectiveness Standard
Rigor - Assignments