## Addendum to the 2009-2013 Negotiated Agreement between the Teachers Association of <u>Anne</u> <u>Arundel County and the Board of Education of Anne Arundel County</u>

The following describes the results of negotiations conducted in accordance with <u>Section 6-408 of the</u> <u>Education Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland</u> between the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County and the Board of Education of Anne Arundel County during the fall and winter of 2009-2010 on matters that were scheduled to be re-opened in the multi-year Agreement referenced above. Except as explicitly provided herein all terms and conditions of employment contained in said Agreement remain in effect. The impacted provisions are:

## Article 3A, Salary:

## All Unit 1 Salary scales are increased by 1% across-the-board on July 1, 2010. Reopeners on *Salary and Other Compensation* remain in effect for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.

## Article 3J, Extra Instructional Programs:

Unit I members in extra-instructional programs for which compensation is paid during the regular school year shall be paid \$25.00 per hour. On July 1, 2011, extra-instructional pay will be increased from \$25 to \$30 per hour. On July 1, 2012, extra-instructional pay will be increased from \$30 to \$40 per hour. Both parties agree to a multi-year effort to raise extra-instruction pay to be at the employee's appropriate hourly wage computed from actual annual salary. (This item is not applicable to extra-curricular activities enumerated in Article 3, Item I.)

Article 3V, Stipend for Challenged Schools/Adequate Yearly Progress: Unit I employees working in the following schools shall be paid an annual stipend of of \$1500 \$1,000:

- 1. *ELEMENTARY:* Waugh Chapel, Tyler Heights, Freetown, Van Bokkelen. *MIDDLE:* Lindale, Meade, Annapolis, Brooklyn Park, Marley, MacArthur, Bates. *HIGH:* Meade, North County, Old Mill, Annapolis.
- 2. SCHOOLS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD AS TITLE I SCHOOLS.

Unit I employees who work in such schools shall be paid a second stipend of \$1500 \$1,000 if the school makes Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as defined by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE).

Unit I employees who work in such schools on a part-time, itinerant, or part-year basis may receive prorated stipends.

The Board and the Superintendent reserve the flexibility to offer of \$1500 \$1,000 stipends to other Unit I employees for stated reasons.

The Board and the Superintendent reserve the flexibility to pay pre-employment signing bonuses in increments over several years that may continue into active years of employment.

# In the event that the fiscal year 2011 salary package is not fully funded following action by the funding authority, the above stipends will revert to the \$1,500 level.

## Article 11C, Planning Time:

The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County and the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County

mutually agree on the importance of the teachers planning collaboratively in our schools. We know that nothing is as important as the classroom teacher in making a difference in student performance. When teachers are collegial, sharing their knowledge and wisdom and problem solving, planning, implementing, and evaluating as a team, great gains for students can be realized.

Except where not administratively possible, each classroom teacher shall have at least 410 minutes of individual and group planning time within the required work week when not responsible for the supervision of students.

Collaborative planning includes a group, team or partnership working together during the teacher workday as they complete tasks which include:

- Differentiation of instruction/accommodations
- Developing units, lessons and classroom based assessments
- Examining evaluating student work
- Evaluating materials
- Planning the use and evaluation of instructional practices
- o Making instructional decisions based upon data
- Sharing best practices
- Developing methodology and documentation to satisfy needs of both teacher and principal

Collaborative planning is part of group planning and will be made available at a minimum of sixty minutes per week in increments of no less than thirty minutes. Collaborative planning does not include meetings such as IEP team, Section 504, School Improvement Team, Faculty Advisory Council, inservice, training and similar school committees.

For elementary school teachers, a minimum of 210 of these 410 minutes of planning time will be scheduled during the student day and set aside for the individual planning time for delivery of instruction. Individual planning time during the student day for elementary school teachers will be scheduled in blocks of no less than 30 consecutive minutes. Nothing contained herein would preclude an elementary school from using a model which provides double blocks (1 full hour) on some days of the week and none on others in meeting the above 210 minutes minimum.

For secondary school teachers, a minimum of 210 of these 410 minutes of planning time will be scheduled during the student day and set aside for the individual planning time for the delivery of instruction.. Planning time during the student day for secondary school teachers will be scheduled in blocks of no less than 40 consecutive minutes.

For all teachers, if time within the 210 minutes is used for required group planning, an equal amount of time during the teacher workday will be set aside for individual planning time.

In addition to the non-student time referenced above, teachers assigned to the special education centers will receive 60 minutes per week of non-student time for case management, billing and other paperwork demands.

### Article 14F (new article):

Daily student absences will be reported to parents using the automated calling system, rather than Unit 1 employees. Unit I employees may be required to make a good faith effort to contact parents of students with excessive absences.

The aforegoing Agreement was reached by the undersigned on January 27, 2010, and submitted for ratification to TAAAC and the Board.

For the Board: Oscar N. Davis William Jones Chief Negotiator Chief Negotiator Jessica S. Cuches, Esq. Timothy M. Mennuti Negotiator TAAAC President, Negotiator Vanessa Bass Richard Benfer Negotiator Negotiator Michael Barnett Melissa Camden Negotiator Negotiator Mary Tillar Diana Peckham Negotiator Negotiator P. Tyson Bennett, Esquire Alma Durm Negotiator Negotiator Catherine Gilbert James Vaughan Negotiator Negotiator

Catherine Herbert Negotiator

For TAAAC:

Jacqueline Lubniewski Negotiator

Melvin K. Baughman Negotiator

Pamela Bukowsky Negotiator

Following mutual ratification, the parties hereunto set their hands and seals this \_\_\_\_\_ day of 2010.

### **BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY**

Kevin M. Maxwell, Ph. D.

Edward P. Carey