NCTQ welcomes new board members

See all posts

We're most pleased that our Board of Directors is expanding to include two educators who have earned their prominence on the national education reform scene: Henry L. Johnson and John Winn.

Henry Johnson served as Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education in the U.S. Department of Education and before that held state leadership positions in Mississippi and North Carolina. A former teacher, principal and central-office administrator, he is currently a senior advisor for B&D Consulting.

John Winn was Florida's Commissioner of Education until his retirement in 2007. In that capacity and earlier, he helped design many of Florida's educator reforms. He is currently the Chief Program Officer for AP and pre-AP courses for the National Mathematics and Science Initiative.

We're also very happy to welcome to our Advisory Board Joseph A. Hawkins, Senior Study Director for Westat research. He formerly worked as an evaluation specialist for the Montgomery County (Maryland) Public Schools and is the author of an award-winning series of columns for Teaching Tolerance magazine.