NCTQ announces more additions to its Advisory Board

See all posts

NCTQ announces the addition of four new members to our Advisory Board, many of whom bring with them a perspective rooted in classroom teaching experiences.

First, we welcome James Larson,7th grade Humanities teacher at the Charles A. Tindley Accelerated School in Indianapolis. James was his school's 2010 teacher of the year. Outside of the classroom, he is involved in a wide range of policy initiatives as a member of the Indiana Department of Education's Evaluation Leadership Cabinet, Education Reform Cabinet and Technical Assistance Team.

In addition, we are pleased that Audrey Soglin, Executive Director of the Illinois Education Association, has joined us; she's a big reason why Illinois has been able to make so many important changes to its teacher policies over the last year. Audrey taught in Evanston, Illinois for 25 years and brings with her an expertise in staff development, including mentoring, teacher evaluation, formative assessment and observation.

We also welcome Pattie Davis, who teaches science at Fairview Middle School and holds the position of Department and Grade Level Chair. Pattie has taught in Memphis City Schools for the past ten years and is committed to affecting positive social change in her classroom.

And lastly, welcome to Joel Klein, former Chancellor of New York City Schools and currently CEO & Executive Vice President of News Corporation. As head of NYC's schools for eight years, Joel's understanding of the complex issues surrounding teacher quality, from preparation to evaluation to dismissal, is rivaled by none.

A full listing of our Advisory Board can be found here.